AALL Spectrum

AALL Spectrum / July/August 2017 / Volume 21, Number 6

AALL Spectrum / Published by American Association of Law Libraries

Issue link: http://epubs.aallnet.org/i/838524

Contents of this Issue


Page 47 of 67

46 AALL SPECTRUM | WWW.AALLNET.ORG JOYCE MANNA JANTO J oyce Manna Janto is currently the deputy director at the University of Richmond School of Law Library. She previously worked as the acquisitions librarian and associate director for collection development at the University of Richmond. One nominator said that "through- out her career, Joyce has worked to advance AALL, the profession, and its members." Janto "has always shared her knowledge and contributed to the education and intellectual brain trust of the Association and profession through her many publications and speaking engagements at the chapter and national levels." is is clearly evident in her continued commitment to serve the profession through sub- stantial and sustained committee work, along with her equally strong commit- ment to mentoring librarians. With more than 30 years of expe- rience in the profession, Janto has made signicant contributions to law librarianship. She has been a member of AALL since 1981. In addi- tion to numerous speaking engage- ments at AALL Annual Meetings and the Southeastern Chapter of the American Association of Law Libraries (SEAALL) Annual Meeting, Janto also gave the keynote address at the 2011 meeting of the Chilean Law Librarians Association. Similarly, Janto has been an exemplary leader in the profession. She has served on the AALL Executive Board as president and treasurer. On a regional level, Janto has served as president of SEAALL, and as president of the Virginia Association of Law Libraries. Janto has remained active in committee service and has chaired several AALL committees, includ- ing the Nominations Committee, Placement Committee, and Mentoring Committee. She currently serves as a member of the Bylaws and Resolutions Committee. Fellow librarians describe Janto as enthusiastic, willing to work with others, and "relentlessly practical." Her continued commitment to law librarianship and AALL has never waned. Janto continues to be a leader, innovator, and a source of knowledge for other librarians. She can now add the well-deserved AALL Hall of Fame Award to her list of professional accomplishments. CATHERINE LEMANN C atherine "Cathy" Lemann has been a member of AALL for 28 years. In this time, Lemann has made many signicant contributions to the Association as well as the profession. She retired in 2013 aer serving as the circuit librarian for the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in Richmond, Virginia. Since her retirement, she has contin- ued in law librarianship, working part- time as a research librarian for the Law Library of Louisiana. Lemann has an impressive record of service to AALL. In addition to serving as president of the AALL Executive Board, she also previously served as secretary. At the national level, Lemann has served as the chair of several AALL AWARD SEASON AALL Hall of Fame T his year's inductees to the American Association of Law Libraries (AALL) Hall of Fame include four longtime members of AALL who exemplify significant and long-standing contributions to the profession and the Association. The AALL Hall of Fame inductees will be recognized at the Association Luncheon on Tuesday, July 18, during the AALL Annual Meeting in Austin. Members of the Awards Committee are chair Katrina M. Miller, Carol Bredemeyer, Michelle Cosby, John H. Davey, Sarah Holterhoff, Darcy Kirk, and Terry Long. Please join the Awards Committee and the Association in congratulating the 2017 Hall of Fame inductees. BY MICHELLE COSBY Introducing the 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees: Joyce Manna Janto, Catherine Lemann, Melody Lembke, and Maryruth Storer © 2017 by Michelle Cosby

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of AALL Spectrum - AALL Spectrum / July/August 2017 / Volume 21, Number 6